PDA

View Full Version : The "Ah Boy" with No Proper Name

chupchaikia
07-01-2021, 02:17 PM
Writer's Note:
Dear brothers and sisters reading this, this is my first time writing a fantastic story so please forgive my bad writing. Questions and inputs are welcomed. Names have been altered to protect the guilty.

"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet" he thought he remembered someone telling him this.

As he looked into the mirror, at the stranger staring back at him, he wondered to himself, "What is my name?"

He has been called many names - Oh, Jim, Ah Kau, 9966, Lucky - just to name a few but he couldn't remember what his real name is. Perhaps he had some bad childhood experience that has scarred him badly. Or he was just ashamed of his real name; he just couldn't remember. He tried to concentrate - to remember the name his parents gave him but that gave him a bad headache so he stopped. Thinking was not something he was good at.

Shaking his head, he headed to his computer and turned it on. What should he ask the wonderful world of the Internet today, specifically the helpful people at the forums.

What brand of underwear should I buy?
Which tastes better - chicken rice or duck rice?
How does air smell like without a surgical mask?

Come to think of it, the list of questions he wanted to ask was endless and he was spoilt for choice.

Then came the issue of his Internet nick. Somehow he felt safe hiding behind his monitor screen, in the comforts of his home. All the previous nicks that he had used had garnered a lot of negative comments so he scratched his head. What name should he use next?

Maybe someone out in the forum can give him a good suggestion?

Brigadier
07-01-2021, 04:51 PM
21 Gun salute to you sir!

bigpudding
07-01-2021, 10:44 PM
Festivejoy to you bro!

chupchaikia
08-01-2021, 01:03 AM