PDA

View Full Version : Indian FTrash: Is $5,500 Salary Enough for Me in Singapore?

Sammyboy RSS Feed
04-10-2014, 02:20 AM
An honorable member of the Coffee Shop Has Just Posted the Following:

http://sgtalk.org/mybb/Thread-Foreig...e-in-Singapore (http://sgtalk.org/mybb/Thread-Foreigner-Expat-Is-5-500-Salary-Enough-for-Me-in-Singapore)

Posted by Cybeh on: 15 September 2014, 14:27:06 pm

Hi,

I recently got a job offer for 5500 SGD pre tax per month ($66,000) from Singapore.

I have 6+ yrs of experience in Information Security Management, and currently earning a good salary here in India.

Is this salary good enough for me a family of three, one kid who will be going to play school in next 6 months. Wife is probably not gonna be working.

Let me know your thoughts. Am looking to have a decent lifestyle and thinking to save some.

I was thinking of taking it up and later switching to another company once am there after an year. What are the challenges for shifting jobs there?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Cybeh

Posted by Do you realize… on 15 September 2014, 14:28:26 pm

I don’t think I am advertising for Singapore, but merely stating that you are comparing apples against oranges.

Traffic in Singapore is bad, but how many people on this board have ever been trapped in a 2-hour traffic in Singapore? The transport system in Singapore may not be the best, but again, we are talking about Singapore compared to India. I would say Singapore is pretty ahead in comparison.

If you look at the condition of properties, it may not be the best and there is definitely room for improvement, but again, you are comparing against India. What I am saying is, Singapore is an entirely different place compared to India. In India, a higher middle class may have 4-6 maids at home. But in Singapore or any major financial centre, how may people can have 4-6 maids at home? Just because you do not have 4-6 maids, does that mean the quality of life is compromised?