PDA

View Full Version : It took four years to learn I'm no lawyer

Sammyboy RSS Feed
03-06-2013, 11:00 AM
An honorable member of the Coffee Shop Has Just Posted the Following:

My heart skipped a beat when my hand grasped air instead of wood. Then I realised that the next rung on the wooden ladder I was climbing to board a ship had given way. I was only 24, one year into my work as a lawyer, and facing a real prospect of tragedy at sea.

I had come to arrest the ship which my client had a claim against, which meant making my way to the ship's bridge and sticking the court papers on its windscreen. To this day, I still believe that nothing short of divine intervention helped me to pull myself up and board the ship.

Before I became a tech journalist, I was a lawyer and then a law lecturer for seven years. My mother was extremely proud and my future looked bright. I had achieved many a parent's dream of having a doctor or lawyer for a child, despite spending more time playing video games than mastering the laws of contract and tort at the National University of Singapore.

My first four years as a litigator were unforgettable. Law had seemed glamorous on television and in the movies, but the reality was a far cry from what I had envisioned.

I was thrown into the deepest end right from the start. Halfway through my pupillage, the senior litigator in the one-boss, five-man law firm I was in quit. The boss decided, quite erroneously, that I was ready and made me take over all of my senior colleague's cases and files, more than 100 in all. I put up a brave front and somehow survived the next three months, and was eventually called to the Bar.