PDA

View Full Version : Teaching more than just Physics

OrIghTman
22-02-2009, 05:08 AM
Brothers, it is now my time to share my experiences years ago when I was working as a part-time tutor. As this is my first time posting a story here, pls give me your comments and guidance so that I can try to improve on the writing. The following story is real but the names have been masked, just in case the female lead is one of our sister samsters.

Episode 1

When I was serving the nation, I was very fortunate to be posted to a 9 to 5 clerical job. Since I can return home everyday, I got myself enrolled in a tuition agency as a part-time tutor to earn extra money. Bros here in their 30s will remember that the NSF allowance during those days was pathetic, compared to what the chaps are receiving today. As me and my fellow unit mates cheong quite a lot like any other hot-bloodied female-deprived males during those days (every friday, saturday at samsara, mdm wong, double o, chinablack, zouk, etc), I needed the extra money for the dinners, drinks, suppers and cab rides.

Let me first explain how the tuition agency works, not sure if it's still the same today as I haven't been doing this line already. When you register yourself as a tutor, you need to specify your qualifications and what level/subjects you would like to tutor. When there are available matching students in your preferred geographical areas, the agency contacts you. Once you agree to an assignment (as they term it), the agency will take half of your first month's pay as commission. Pay rates are based on educational level of the student. If I remember correctly, the rates for pri sch, sec sch and junior college are $15-20, $20-30 and $25-35 per hour respectively.